20 summoned to start COSAFA preps

first_img Tags: COSAFAtopUganda Cranes The Cranes are slatted to take part in the COSAFA tournament later this month. (file photo)2019 COSAFA CupDurban, South Africa25th May – 6th JuneKAMPALA – A squad of 20 players has been summoned ahead of the 2019 COSAFA Cup in South Africa.Uganda was invited to take part in the competition that runs from May 20th to June 6th. as the guest Nation.However, they will not feature in the Group stages but will rather start at the quarter final stage.In the Last 8, the Cranes will take on Lesotho, one of the other five nations that will also not be part of the Groups.The squad that was announced on Tuesday features only players that play on the local seen in both the StarTimes Uganda Premier League and the FUFA Big League.It is strange that only one goalkeeper, SC Villa’s Saidi Keni features on the list of players.Saidi Keni is the only goalkeeper on the list. (Agency Photo)Almost all the stand out performers in the Premier League, last season have been included. Express’s John Revita, Vipers Dan Sserrunkuma, Bright Stars Captain Nelson Ssenkatuka and KCCA’s Mustapha Kizza who is currently undergoing trials in Spain, are all part of the squad.Proline’s Bright Anukani is the only player that is on the squad and featuresin the FUFA Big League. He comes as no surprise as he has been the National team set-up in the recent past.The team will start training on the 15th of this month (May) at the StarTimes Stadium in Lugogo.To complete the squad, some players from the initial preliminary AFCON Squad will be considered for COSAFA tournament if they don’t travel to the United Arab Emirates.The list of 20 players that have been summoned ahead of COSAFA 2019Said Keni (Sc Villa), Willa Paul (Police), Kizza Mustafa (KCCA FC), Revita John (Express FC), Eyam Ivan (Mbarara City FC), Serunkuma Daniel (Vipers SC), Owori David (SC Villa), Bright Anukani (Proline FC), Bashir Mutanda (SC Villa), Mucuurezi Paul (Mbarara City FC), Mbowa Paul Baker (URA FC), Mutyaba Muzamiru (KCCA FC), Isinde Isaac (KJSSS FC), Senkatuka Nelson (Brights Stars FC), Kagimu Shafik (URA FC), Kasozi Nicolas (KCCA FC), Kayiwa Allan (Tooro United FC), Hassan Musana (KCCA FC), Obenchan Filibert (KCCA FC), Birungi Michael (Express FC)Comments last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *